Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHomeStandards



Reliability Standards

A reliability standard defines certain requirements of entities that own, operate, plan, and use the bulk power systems of North America. The North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), which was certified by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) as the Electric Reliability Organization (ERO) for North America, works with all stakeholder segments of the electric industry to develop standards for the reliable planning and operation of the bulk power systems. Visit National Reliability Standards for more information about the NERC standards activities.

For the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) region, Texas Reliability Entity, Inc. (Texas RE) develops, through its own FERC-approved processes, separate regional reliability standards that go beyond, add detail to, or implement NERC Reliability Standards, or that cover matters not addressed in NERC Reliability Standards. Visit Regional Reliability Standards Development to read more about the process.

Any entity (organization, company, government agency, individual, etc.) that is directly and materially affected by the reliability of the ERCOT bulk power systems may request an ERCOT-specific regional reliability standard to be developed, modified, or withdrawn. To initiate such a request, send the Standard Authorization Request Form (found below) to the Reliability Standards Manager External Link.

The Reliability Standards Committee (RSC) reviews and recommends action on ERCOT-specific reliability standards and regional variances to NERC standards.  To receive regional standards news, visit Texas RE Mailing Lists 


Section Image
© Texas Reliability Entity. All rights reserved.